Martin Luther King Jr. aka Dad

gty_martin_luther_king_family_1957_coretta_ss_thg-130114_ssh“I have a dream that my four little children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin but by the content of their character.”

Martin Luther King Jr. had 4 small children.  So many stories have been written about all the great things in his lifetime that he did but when he got home, 4 little kids just called him Dad.  He had such a passion for righting a HUGE wrong in the world.  I like to see some of the pictures of Martin Luther King Jr with his kids.  Just enjoying them and being their dad.

Image

Image

This one cracks me up because we have all been  there during a photo session!
This one cracks me up because we have all been there during a photo session!

I know I have said this before and I will say it again –

It is impossible to explain to my kids when they ask about Martin Luther King Jr. –   I feel extremely embarrassed.  I absolutely HATE telling them that not so long ago, black children could not even attend the same schools OR drink from the same water fountain OR sit in the front of the bus OR …….  ABSOLUTELY embarrassing to try to explain this to my kids.  They are completely baffled on how  people could have even thought that AND acted on those crazy beliefs just because of a different color skin.   So CRAZY and ignorant.

hen I was teaching, we would be talking about Martin Luther King Jr. and it was the same uncomfortable conversation of trying to explain such bigotry and hatred.  A good activity we did to show how completely ridiculous people are when they are racist was the “Arm Test.”  I would have all the kids put their hands in a circle on the table.  Then I would say the whitest arm is the smartest and best and then we would keep going until the darkest arm was last.  The kids really could see how absolutely ridiculous such thinking was AND is today.

Another good activity is to give each of your students a lemon or apple.  Let them describe it.   Some will describe the size, color, and/or any dents or bruises.  Put all the lemons or apples back in a pile.  Each student will be able to identify their own lemon very easily.  Now have them peel it and put them back in the pile.  All the same.

Then we start talking about what a great and incredibly brave man Martin Luther King Jr. was and they start to see how extremely important this man was to the whole world.  He was not afraid to stand up for something that was so horribly wrong, unfair, and unjust.  Such a HERO.

Thank you Martin Luther King Jr.!

Street signs mark the corner of Rosa Parks Blvd and Martin Luther King Jr Blvd in Detroit

3 thoughts on “Martin Luther King Jr. aka Dad

  1. A very nice tribute to an inspired and inspiring man.

    I am of a generation and from a location where I have seen and continue to see racism first hand.

    I chose to write today on the racism that was and still is prevalent among some white Midwesterners. It’s called “Was He Only Dreaming?: Hoosier Perspectives on Martin Luther King”. I’d love for you to check it out and tell me what you think.

Leave a Reply

