MY MOM

My mom with all her grandkids

I really feel like I won the lottery when it comes to my mom.  She is the B.E.S.T.   I always knew I had a good mom growing up but when I got a little older and more mature, I completely realized she was awesome.  Growing up on a farm in MN, we had no extra money.  And yet we never felt poor which is quite a feat raising 3 teenage girls.  I still remember Friday nights sitting with a big bowl of melted marshmallows and popcorn with my mom and watching The Love Boat and then Fantasy Island.  It did not get any better than that!

A few years ago, I was on a flight and I really thought this was the end of the line for me.  The plane was dropping and shaking.  Even the flight attendants looked scared – which is a really bad sign and they need to work on that!    So I closed my eyes and tried to think of a happy thought of each member of my family.  I had two memories about my mom.  The first one was when I was maybe a senior in high school.  I was sad (and probably TOTALLY hormonal and  TOTALLY over-dramatic) because some of my friends were giving me a hard time.  I was telling my mom this and then I started to cry about this and that.  Soon, we were in the car, just the two of us, heading to the mall, an hour away to buy a dress for the party I had been invited to but didn’t want to go because I did not have a dress.  Looking back on that, I bet my mom was wondering how the heck she was going to pay for that dress.  The other memory that came to my mind was as a little kid  making a fort and my mom bringing us “coffee” which really was coke in a coffee cup.  I totally remember her blowing on our cups and then handing it to us.     

My mom was with me after every baby I had (4).  With each baby, I always suffered from postpartum for about a month.  My mom was there with each one, until I started feeling like myself again.  She was truly a lifesaver.  I remember telling her after baby #2 that I just want to get in the car by MYSELF and drive away FOREVER.  She never said “Oh Kinzie, that is a crazy, weird, psycho, nutzo, wacko,  thought” but instead just gave me a hug and told me “it WILL get better.”  

Mount Rushmore

My mom also jumped in the good ol’ van with me and the 4 kids to make the drive from MN to CA.  Now that was a scary commitment on my mom’s part!  The kids were 1, 4, 6, and 8.  We had no idea how it would go but it was a BLAST.  Really, we never got mad or irritated with each other.  It is now a super memory for me and my kids.  The kids still talk about how Grandma taught them how to shoot spit balls in the hotel room.  Before we checked out, I had to wipe balls of spit off the ceiling, mirrors, pictures, and window. 

Shooting spit balls - Check out how my baby is carefully watching and learning!

Mom was up for anything on that trip and I never have a plan.  Sometimes that is good and sometimes bad.  I wanted to see Mt. Rushmore, which is about 5 hours out of our way.  Mom was game.  So we arrived at Mt. Rushmore and got out of the car.  HUGE thunderstorm with fork lightning.  We jumped out, took a quick picture, screamed back to the van and away we went. 

My mom is one great lady!  I am SO lucky to have her in my life AND my children’s life.

4 thoughts on “MY MOM

  1. What a great dedication to your mom! I enjoyed reading it. I hope you had a very Happy Mother’s Day! We miss you all!

  2. Kinzie-
    This made me cry, but in such a good, mom-type way. So wonderful how thankful you are!
    Becca~

Leave a Reply

